Herb and Amaranth Fritters

IMG_5689I have been trying eat more whole grains lately.   I can’t eat gluten and many grains make me feel sick, but I’ve realized that I had developed a bit of an irrational fear that has kept me from eating much grain at all, even the ones that are good for me.

A couple of months ago I mixed up a big batch of this amazing gluten-free whole grain cereal and I have been eating it every morning with fruit, nuts and milk for breakfast.  I’ve been in a serious work wind tunnel, making shadow puppets for Zeigfeld’s Midnight Frolic which is playing in a hidden theater on 42nd street.  Times Square is a hard neighborhood to find a good affordable meal in and for about 3 weeks I was spending 12-14 hours there.  So in general, I have been eating very little/ very poorly.  The whole grain cereal has been a real life saver.

Before you feel too sorry for poor little hungry me, I’d like to share some photos of the spectacular show that has disrupted my cooking routine.  If you are in NYC and like burlesque, aerial performance, the fashion and music of the 1920’s, murder mysteries, fancy cocktails and shadow puppets you should come see it!

Okay, enough decadence!  Back to whole grains!  My new whole grain cereal routine has made me particularly fond of amaranth.   I had only ever eaten before when my sister makes her amazing Quinoa-Amaranth Sushi.  We should all be making that sushi. Go look at the recipe.

Amaranth has a really wonderful crunchy texture and an earthy flavour.  While making puppets in the wee hours, I found myself wondering what would happen to the texture of amaranth if you fried it.  So much for eating healthier.  As soon as I had a free moment I made some fried amaranth fritters with the leftover herbs that we languishing in my fridge.  They were amazing.  They are so deliciously crunchy.  I made another batch a week later with a different set of herbs that were wilting in my fridge.  They were amazing again.

In the spring time, I delight in eating large quantities of fresh herbs and greens.  I usually make weird and delicious pesto like Mint and Pistachio, Peashoot and Almond, Nettle and Ramp, Cilantro and Pepita or Dandelion and Hazelnut, Cilantro and Sunflower seed, Romaine and Pinenut and Kale with Walnut.  I also like to make these green fritters with herb sauce.  This year’s green delivery system is amaranth fritters.

I encourage you to try the versions that I am posting here or just experiment with whatever herbs you have in your fridge!  I have been eating them on top of salad, but they would be very good stuffed into a pita as well, if you an eat bread.  IMG_5683HERB AND AMARANTH FRITTERS (MINT AND PARSLEY VERSION)

  • 1 cup Amaranth
  • 1 and 1/2 cups water
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated pecorino
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup minced mint
  • 2/3 cup minced parsley
  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 tsp chili pepper (I use urfa or aleppo)
  • 1 tsp sumac
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tablespoons flour (I use amaranth or buckwheat flour)
  • Mild oil for pan frying
  • 1/4 cup whole yogurt
  • 1/4 cup tahini or cashew butter
  • the juice of 1 lemon
  • arugula for serving
  • salt to taste
  1. Bring the water and amaranth to a boil with a pinch of salt.  Cover, reduce the heat and cook another 40 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, pecorino, garlic, mint. parsley, scallions, lemon zest, chili pepper, sumac and salt.
  3. Add the cooked amaranth and flour and use your hands to combine.
  4. Heat about a quarter-inch of oil in a large heavy bottomed skillet.
  5. While the oil heats, scoop out 1/4 cup of the mixture and form it into a patty and drop it into the hot oil.  Repeat until you have formed 10-12 patties and dropped them into the oil.  When the patties are crisp and golden brown on one side flip them and fry them on the other.  Drain the patties on towels.
  6. Whisk the yogurt, tahini or cashew butter  and lemon together.  Season to taste with salt.  Serve the fritters hot, drizzled with the yogurt dressing on a bed of arugula.

HERB AND AMARANTH FRITTERS (FENNEL AND DILL VERSION)

  • 1 cup Amaranth
  • 1 and 1/2 cups water a pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated pecorino
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/2 cup fresh dill, snipped or minced
  • 1/2 cup fennel fronds, snipped or minced
  • 1 bunch of chives, snipped or mince
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp celery salt
  • 2 tablespoons flour (I use amaranth or buckwheat flour)
  • 1 batch of smokey buttermilk dressing
  • arugula for serving
  1. Bring the water and amaranth to a boil with a pinch of salt.  Cover, reduce the heat and cook another 40 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, pecorino, garlic, dill, fennel, chives, lemon zest, cayenne and celery salt.
  3. Add the cooked amaranth and flour and use your hands to combine.
  4. Heat about a quarter inch of oil in a large heavy bottomed skillet.
  5. While the oil heats, scoop out 1/4 cup of the mixture and form it into a patty and drop it into the hot oil.  Repeat until you have formed 10-12 patties and dropped them into the oil.  When the patties are crisp and golden brown on one side flip them and fry them on the other.  Drain the patties on towels.  Serve hot, drizzled with smokey buttermilk dressing on a bed of arugula.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE…