Broiled Stone Fruit

I have been buying a lot of nectarines and apricots lately.  I love the smell of nectarines and apricots remind me of all kinds of delicious summer deserts that my Aunty Mona used to make with the fruit from her trees.  I would buy peaches too, but the ones that I can get in NYC fall very short of the Peaches that I have eaten in Texas and in British Colombia, so I stick to Nectarines, apricots and, in a month or so, plums.

I often have big plans for my stone fruit….jam, tarts, trifles…but when it comes right down to it I just end up eating them for breakfast and snacks.  Awhile back though, I over-bought stone fruit on a week when I was so overworked that I was skipping breakfasts and snacks.  At the end of the week, my neglected fruit was looking very sad.

I contemplated making  jam for about three seconds, but the weather was in the 90’s and I was so tired that the idea of standing over a stove made want to cry.  SO, I sliced the fruit in half, sprinkled it with a bit of brown sugar and put it under the broiler until the top of the fruit had caramelized.  In my broiler this takes about 6 minutes.  Really I just lurk near the stove and listen for when sizzling noises start to come from the broiler and then I know that it is done.

I ate my broiled nectarine, straight up, in the only air-conditioned room in my apartment.  If I’d had mascarpone, or honey sweetened ricotta, or whipped cream, or greek yogurt, or ice cream or lightly sweetened cream fraiche…I would have put a dollop on top, but a topping is certainly not required unless you are serving the fruit as a fancy desert.  The broiled apricots went into the fridge, and later found their way into found their way into a Green Salad with Goat Cheese, Hazelnuts and Blueberry Dressing.

So there you have it.  Broiled stone fruit can be a snack, a fancy desert, or a salad topping.  I might even make a batch again with fruit that has not spent a week sitting on my counter!  I hope that you will give it a try too!

About Big Sis Little Dish

This is a blog run by two sisters. Erin is the big sister who lives in New York, and Silvi is the little sister who lives in Vancouver. They both love to cook! They created this blog to share and store recipes for the food they make.

6 comments

  1. glenda

    Gabriola plums will be ready. When you are here. Keith will take you to Valdez in his little boat too!

  2. Life & Sunshine

    mmm! we just made a yummy green salad with grilled peaches for a party the other night, it was a hit!

  3. Oh my broiled nectarine, loving the charred part of it, can imagine the taste in my mouth!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 898 other followers

